Mexico City CCM – January 22nd, 2015

Carter Temple Carter Comps

This week went by super slow, but also super fast… It’s like they say, “long days, short months!” I’m scheduled to leave February 16th so I only have 3 weeks! Things have been pretty much the same though. Every day we have study from 7-8 am. Then we head to breakfast, have class from 8:45-11:30. After that we have gym time for an hour and a half. I was pretty bummed this week because all my native friends left for their missions since they only have to be here for two weeks. They helped me with my Spanish so much. I have been playing basketball almost everyday which is pretty fun! After exercising we have lunch, an hour of additional study time, and then we work on a computer program called TALL which is Spanish training. After that we have another class with a different teacher, Hermano Gomez, who was the investigator we taught the last week. The big CCM surprise is that your first investigator turns out to be your teacher. He is a great teacher, more strict than my morning teacher, Hermano Soto, but he helps a lot and it is good for me. He is really good at teaching Spanish. One of his good quotes for missionary work is “The WHAT informs, and the WHY transforms.” I think that is pretty cool. We then have dinner, and then two hours of personal study. Ha, a lot of studying!! I read about 30-45 pages of the Book of Mormon or New Testament every day. My goal is to get through the BOM 1.5 times before I leave for Tijuana.

Its pretty crazy, Tanner Myler from Eagle is actually in my zone! Pretty crazy. We had a service project on Saturday where we just helped clean. I went to my first “tie-trade,” man it was nuts. I got mobbed by everyone because my ties were so cool (props to my family for picking them out.) I traded one old tie for three really cool ones. Sunday was pretty cool, a lot of meetings and devotionals. I really felt the spirit Sunday night when we had our own Zone meeting, completely run by ourselves. At the end all 30 of us all kneeled down and prayed. I just thought it was so amazing how there could be this many kids under 20 years old, kneeling down in Mexico City, giving 2 years of their life to the Lord. So, so cool. I had to write another talk completely in Spanish. Luckily I didn’t get called on to speak!! Monday started off pretty well, I made a personal goal to go to class 15 minutes early to try to set up everyone’s desks for the day. That lasted Monday and Tuesday and then I couldn’t do it anymore, haha I was too tired. We also have two new investigators (our morning teacher, and our afternoon teacher) that we teach once a day. On Saturdays we teach a member volunteer that is from Mexico City. It really forces you to improve your Spanish. Our District is super, super tight. We are super close and call ourselves the CCM SQUAD. There is this building called the Gordan B. Hinckley building with like 20 bathroom stalls in it so after every dinner we all go to the bathroom because of the harsh Mexican food we eat every day. I actually got really sick Tuesday night/Wednesday. The stomach flu was going around the CCM. I think it was a bad batch of breakfast quesodillas they gave us. I was throwing up and couldn’t be more than 20 feet from a bathroom for about two days. I missed my morning classes and just rested in bed, and when I woke up I saw my whole District in my room with some Sprites, saltine crackers, and a vile of consecrated oil to give me a blessing! After the blessing I still felt sick, but I was able to finish the rest of the day in my class. I am better now.

This morning we had the awesome opportunity to travel 30 minutes East to the Mexico City Temple!! It was sooooo beautiful. It is the biggest temple in Mexico, and something that’s pretty cool is the Angel Moroni is holding the golden plates. It is 1 of 5 who have that. Anyway, it was closed so we just went to the visitors center and walked around the grounds, but it was super cool and the spirit was strong. It was also cool getting out of the CCM, I was getting a little claustrophobic. Driving through Mexico City is always a thrill too. Haha the roads are crazy!

I am so grateful to be out here on my mission!!! I miss my family and friends more than anything but I know this is where I am supposed to be. My testimony grows so much everyday. The CCM is a really special place. I love all my teachers and I am loving my experience!! I can’t wait for the next few weeks! 

Love, 

Elder Woods

Carter CHRISTUS 2CCM Grounds

 

Leave a Reply

