Week #3 – Mexico City CCM – January 29th, 2015

Mexico City TacosCCM Squad

Holy cow!!! The time here is flying by!! It seems like I just got here, but at the same time, it feels like I’ve been here for a month. I feel like my emails are pretty repetitive because we kind of do the same sort of things most days here in the CCM but I will just talk about my week and my feelings\experiences.

So Friday was a super great day, I learned a ton. We did an activity where all the Elders split up and were put together with a different companion and had to teach a single Elder on something he was struggling with. So when you were the ‘investigator’ you had to choose a profile and a difficulty. The missionaries had to figure out the problem, and then teach a lesson to help them. Super cool, and all in Spanish of course! The guy I taught chose a buddy in high school who believed in the church and knew it was true but had difficulty giving up his college\high school lifestyle of partying. We taught him a little bit about the Word of Wisdom but mostly talked about the happiness that comes from being a member of the church. It was a great realization moment for me just expressing how much joy I have in the gospel! It’s so great to be apart of this church. Sometimes I have taken the happiness and blessings for granted because I have been a member my whole life. That night we memorized the baptism invitation and first vision in Spanish as well as studied about Jesus Christ. SATURDAY was super cool because it was our first TRC as a district. They brought in a bunch of young women from a local stake in Mexico City and we taught them a lesson that would help them. There was also two catholic couples who came to help out because they think the church does good things! Ha, our luck we got the catholic guy!! It was a real life opportunity to share the gospel. HE SPOKE SO FAST!!!! I understood him really well though. I was able to talk with the guy for about 10 minutes about his life and stuff. Then we taught him about el plan de salvacion. Super cool!! We were only allotted 15 minutes to talk to him but we took up 25 minutes, hahaha which normally people finish EARLIER. super cool! Then we taught another girl who was a member and super cool. We just told her the happiness we have felt being in the field and ways to grow her testimony. The next girl was Mormon but she told us she had an issue knowing if she wanted to serve a mission or not, so me and my companion just explained our experiences of  deciding to come on a mission. We read a few super cool missionary scriptures, and then bore our testimonies.

I love Sundays, so amazing!! I learned how to bless and anoint in Spanish. That night we listened to a talk by Elder Bednar on how to be “preach my gospel” missionaries. It was soooo good.  I suggest everyone reads it. Five things that he pointed out.

1)Understand us as missionaries serve and represent Jesus Christ

2)Be worthy

3)Treasure the words of eternal life

4)The Holy Ghost is the ultimate teacher

5)Understand your teaching people not lessons

Super cool talk and I loved it. Monday and Tuesday were a breeze, nothing to crazy, more teaching, constantly feeling the spirit, and more Spanish. My Spanish skills drift in and out depending how obedient I am. I can tell a difference when I’m strictly obedient, and when I slip up on a few things. We also learned about the importance of staying friends with investigators, but not buddies.

Tuesday night we had a member of the Seventy come and speak at the CCM. Really great! The main message was WORK, WORK, WORK. Wednesday I taught my first lesson without notes!!!! everyday we either teach our investigator Roy(Hermano Gomez) or Adañ (Hermano Soto). Both have different experiences but we are teaching both of them. I can do it completely in Spanish now and understand and answer most of the questions they ask.

TODAY we got to go into downtown Mexico City to get our visas figured out. Not what I expected. If somebody told me I was in a city like Los Angelos or something I would of believed it. Super modern buildings and stuff, but on the street it was all street vendors and taco stands. I got some killer tacos!!! I ate a torta I think its called. It was a tamale in some bread……so good… and it was like 14 pesos so super, super cheap!! The tacos were killer. I asked the man who was selling them “que es major” (like what is better for the sauces) HA!! bad decision!! He pointed to the red sauce, and i put like not even a lot on and he started laughing. I asked him if it was hot, and he said it wasn’t for him but probably for a gringo. He was right… it literally felt like my tounge got burnt from some hot chocolate or something. hahaha so funny.

This was the best part though.. so the place where we were getting our Visas was like the DMV, where you get your numbers and stuff, but like Mexico City style….so quadruple the amount of people. You thought our DMV was packed, HA! and of course… all in Spanish. The lady who was getting my fingerprints was getting frustrated with me because I kept asking her “how she was doing” and “how her day was” and “what she liked.” LOL, I was just practicing my contacting skills!!!!! Pretty funny. OK THE BEST PART.. so it took us like 5 hours to get 30 missionaries through the visa thing. So while we were waiting a guy came up and started talking to us. Perfect opportunity!!! We started talking to him and told him the first lesson because that’s like all we know. He ended up wanting to be taught more!!! So we gave him the number of the CCM so he could get in contact with some missionaries. First contact in the books!!! Super, super, cool experience. Amazing how Heavenly Father works.

Such a great week!!! Can’t wait for the next one to come!! I miss everyone back home!!! Love you guys!! Hope everything is well!!!

Elder Woods

View From CCMTreats

Leave a Reply

