Week #12 – “How great shall be your joy!” – March 23rd, 2015

TJ Skyline

HEY!!!!

Another amazing week in the service of the Lord. Wow, it was a tough week, but such a satisfying week. We had a lot of success and have been feeling the spirit!

I want to start off by sharing a scripture! It’s the scripture on my missionary plaque and one of my favorites; Alma 29:9-10:

“I know that which the Lord hath commanded me, and I glory in it. I do not glory of myself, but I glory in that which the Lord hath commanded me; yea, and this is my glory, that perhaps I may be an instrument in the hands of God to bring some soul to repentance; and this is my joy.”

“And behold, when I see many of my brethren truly  penitent, and coming to the Lord their God, then is my soul filled with joy; then do I remember what the Lord has done for me, yea, even that he hath heard my prayer; yea, then do I remember how merciful his arm is which he has extended towards me.”

This is such and awesome scripture. I love the part where it says, “I glory in the work.” I glory in this work so much and am grateful to answer the call of a mission. I pray every night that I can be a better instrument in the Lords hands. When you see that our message is working, it is the best feeling I have had in my whole life!!!!I am so grateful to be sharing this gospel!!

This week we are going to have our first baptism in this sector!! Finally! Damion and his Mom came to church yesterday and we are baptizing him this Thursday!! So exciting! His cousin Fernando is still hesitant but we are working with him each week. Damion’s Mom has started taking lessons from us as well and is looking up to Damion for making the choice to be baptized.

We have a ton of investigators that I haven’t mentioned because they were just starting out, but we have a ton with baptism dates and we have been teaching a bunch. We are teaching an older couple named Manuel and Anna Luisa. They are awesome and really feel the spirit in our lessons. They didn’t come to church this week because they were both sick but we are looking forward to continuing to teach them.

Another investigator is named Judid. She is awesome!! She told us she knows the Book of Mormon is true and asked us to give her a blessing. I will tell you, giving a blessing in Spanish is a humbling experience. I realize how little I know and how much I need the Lords help everyday.

Another investigator is a man named Jesus. We’re really struggling with him. Two weeks in a row he told us he would come to church but Sunday morning he calls and bails out. It was funny as he had told us he was going out-of-town, but we were teaching a lesson outside yesterday and we saw him. Pretty funny.

This week I had the amazing opportunity to do interchanges with my District Leader. He is a stud! He taught me so much. We did a contact and helped this lady carry in some groceries, we ended up teaching her and setting a Baptism date like 15 minutes later. He had an awesome quote, “Even though the members don’t give us references, God always is willing to give us references.”

We definitely received an answer to a prayer last night. We found a couple who is so excited about the Church. Last night was our first lesson with them and they loved the message. We were teaching them about the Book of Mormon and they asked where they could buy one! We told them we had two for them and they were so happy. They asked when they could be baptized and when General Conference is so they could hear the prophet speak.

We are the Gospel Essentials teachers at Church. Our ward really is struggling because there are only ten active Priesthood holders. Is a great opportunity we have to teach the members how the Church runs effectively.

I’m feeling better and still on the medicine. I go and see the Doctor again today.

I ate some pretty crazy things this week. I ate cactus, a cockroach, and probably the best fish tacos I will ever eat in my life! Of course I also ate lots and lots of chili’s! Crazy stories. I almost got hit by a car this week, almost got robbed but that’s pretty normal and dealt with a lot of drunk people. This week for some reason a ton of people tried to give us money. It’s weird because there are people who want to rob us and then there are people who want to give us money….so it kind of all levels out!

It was a great week! I hope and pray that you guys have an awesome week!!!!

Love and miss you so much,

Elder Woods

Leave a Reply

