Week #21 – Labor In Love – May 25th, 2015

Carter Elder Ruiz

FAMILY!!!

Miss you guys so much… But I had another great week. There are always difficulties but man we are kicking butt right now!

ELDER RUIZ!! He is doing awesome. I have a pretty good handle on Spanish now and am not having too many problems. I can pretty much understand everything and say what I need to say, or find a way to say it.

WE’RE GOING TO BAPTIZE THIS WEEK!!! So excited! We have plans to baptize Manuel and Annaluisa on Thursday. We made some crazy moves yesterday and helped them go to church at a different time, then ran full sprint, for like 3 miles in suits to pick up some more people for our regular church. Elder Ruiz and I felt like “Men in Black” running through the streets of TJ in our church clothes. In the end we had 8 people come to church yesterday and having a ton of success.

We’re going to baptize another guy named Alejando this week too. I haven’t said too much about him but he is a stud. We have been teaching him and his girlfriend is in our ward. He hasn’t had any problems and is totally ready to be baptized.

Andres and Leslie….. AHH, they are driving me crazy! During the week they are so awesome. They are getting the Liahona and they read all of the conference talks and take notes, but Sunday we knocked on their door in the morning but they weren’t there. They bailed on church. We visited them Sunday night and had a lesson we call in the mission “IRONING.” We ironed them pretty hard with a Sabbath day lesson. They are working on getting married. We will see what happens.

We are also finding new people to teach and they are coming to church, We set a baptism date with this guy, and we told him we have a baptism service prepared for him the 25 of June. He said he had plans that week, so we asked what he had planned. He said that week he has plans to try to run across the border. HAHAHA we all had a good laugh. It’s his third time trying and every time he gets caught. He is going to try to climb this massive hill that doesn’t have too much protection. Hahah but so funny. We will see what happens with him.

New house is good. The toilet doesn’t work and we don’t have hot water. It’s safe though and we only have to live there for a month so we are making do.

Some cool information I learned this week. I was reading a book about missionaries in mexico and I came across Anson Call. I’m pretty sure he is one of my great, great Grandfathers. It said that he served a mission here in Mexico and was a bishop! Pretty awesome to here i could have potential family here in Mexico who came before me. 

This week was great, I love the work, I love being a missionary, and love this gospel!

I was reading this morning in 2 Nephi 26:30 y 31.

30 Behold, the Lord hath forbidden this thing; wherefore, the Lord God hath given a commandment that all men should have charity, which charity is love. And except they should have charity they were nothing. Wherefore, if they should have charity they would not suffer the laborer in Zion to perish.

 31 But the laborer in Zion shall labor for Zion…

Love this so much. Charity is so important. We can’t find and bring people to the gospel that we don’t love with all of our hearts. Our President told us when we’re committing people to come to church and live the gospel, we need to imagine our families. So I imagine my family and all of my friends and think about all that love, and then I look them in the eyes and ask them to be baptized, come to church, live the word of wisdom, etc. 

I love also how it says if we don’t have this love, this charity, we would let the work perish in Zion! Then verse 31 says the “laborer in Zion shall labor for Zion” LABOR IN LOVE!!!

With that in mind, I found this video in Mormon Messages that shows this perfect love. It’s called “Lift” and shows this love and this work. 

I love this work and love this gospel!!

HAVE AN AWESOME WEEK AND SHOW MUCH LOVE!

Con mucho mucho amor,

Elder Woods

Leave a Reply

