Week #22 – TUVIMOS BAUTISMOS!!! – June 1st, 2015

CARTER MANUAL ANNALISA CARTER MANUAL THUMBS UP CARTER LIMA CARTER CHRISTMAS TIEANOTHER AMAZING WEEK IN THE SERVICE OF THE LORD!!! 

Holy cow such an awesome week, and we have a great week to come. Tons of opportunities to serve and share the gospel! 

I got the amazing opportunity to baptize two people this week!! WOW! Such a blessing. The sector that I have been in hasn’t seen baptisms in forever, but we have revamped the ward and have another baptism this week and six more for the next.

This week was awesome with the opportunity to baptize Manuel and Annaluisa! A little mexican couple! Man they are so awesome. Manuel loves me because he likes to “talk English” with me. He usually just says, “What time is it?” or “Merry Christmas” (He loves Christmas, he gave me and Elder Ruiz both Christmas ties: see picture) But man they are awesome! They both asked if I could baptize them which was awesome! The baptism service was fantastic, spirit was so strong, but there was a super funny part to the service too and a super spiritual part.

So the funny part was when I got the opportunity to baptize Manuel, it took me seven tries to get it right! It was pretty awesome because every time the people watching got more and more quiet, so when we finally got it right, the spirit was so powerful. That was the best part.

My favorite part about getting to baptize is getting to go change with them right after the baptism. Right after they have just received one of the most important things we can do, and receiving remission for their sins, and just taking a step in following Jesus Christ, I get to talk to them for a few minutes. Sooo amazing. He was just crying, and he couldn’t stop smiling! He said he was so nervous before but after he didn’t want to leave the font. He was the happiest I have ever seen him. I have known him for three months. So amazing. That was the highlight of the week for us, but so many more powerful lessons this week that just made it amazing. We have another baptism this week with a man named Alejandro! Hope everything goes well. 

A guy gave me a horse whip this week, that was pretty sweet. It is super small but holy cow it is powerful! He told me to keep it in my bag for dogs in the street and for people if they try to rob us! HA! So funny..

Tons of soccer this week! We walked by a court with a bunch of cholos (gangsters) playing and they were making fun of us. So Elder Ruiz and I walked up to them and asked if they wanted to play their two best guys against him and I. They laughed soooo hard. I was actually laughing too because it is pretty silly for two missionaries to ask to play. But they said ok…….WE WHOOOPED THEM. Holy cow, we won every game against everyone. After we played, we gave them all a little picture of Jesus Christ and invited them to church 😉

We’re having a ton of success right now! There is only three more weeks in this transfer. I will probably leave because I have been here for almost 4 1/2 months, but we will see what happens. I don’t want to leave right now because we have some amazing investigators who we are helping get married right now but it takes forever. We will see what happens though!!!

LOVING THE SERVICE! Tons of crazy food this week. Tons more chili, hot sauce and tacos. We have been hitting the hot dog stands pretty hard too. Everything in the street is sooo good here. 

So grateful to be out here! Every day I grow to love it more and more. There’s a part in Preach My Gospel where it talks about how to help learn the language of your mission. It talks a lot about when a missionary goes to a foreign country, one of the best ways to get accustomed and learn the language the fastest is embracing the culture. The music, the food, the people, everything. That really hit me hard these past few weeks and I have been really trying to love and do all I can to find out more about the people I’m serving. I have seen a difference in my love for the people and in my success as a missionary! I LOVE MEXICO!!! 

Hope you guys have a great week! I pray for you guys everyday!!

ANIMO!~! LES AMO!!! 

Elder Woods

Leave a Reply

