Week #71 – LIVE for the gospel – May 9th, 2016

Hello Family!

Wow, was it so great talking to you guys yesterday. It was so good to see all of you! I could feel your love and support and I’m so grateful for the opportunity I had to talk to you guys!! Hopefully all continues to go well and we can stay strong until DECEMBER!!!

This week in the field we had a lot of challenges. Like I said I have been sick for a while now but hopefully I will be getting better. The doctor told me that I have a parasite, and that’s why I have just felt weak and tried. Mentally as well it was a tough week. I have always felt whenever I get close to being completely consecrated as a missionary, when I get near the top that’s when challenges start to come. But if I can get through those challenges that’s when the blessings come. I think that applies to us in our lives as well.

Our investigators are doing well! We found a guy this week named M** that is really cool. He has had a really tough life. He just moved to TJ from Ensenada. He’s 22 and is really interested in finding out if the church is true. Well better said, if God exists. It has been an interesting experience helping someone else find out if there is a God. It’s really hard, honestly, to get people to act in faith. But being with M** this past week we could really help him to know there is a God, that he loves him, and cares about him. And in doing so, honestly my testimony has grown to be so strong. Being able to help someone else, has helped me have a testimony that is unable to be broken now. My companion and I, in teaching M**, we have been talking about what we would give for the gospel. And of course it comes down to that we would give everything, even our lives. But I was reading a talk this week from Elder Holland, and he was talking about how giving things away for the gospel is easy. What the Lord wants is people that will LIVE for the gospel. People to testify about him, people to sacrifice for him, and people to enjoy the blessings as well. I have come to see how LIVING for the church, and always having the disposition to give all that I have, has helped me be more consecrated as a missionary and as a member of the church.

Our other investigators are doing well! We had a couple lessons in the temple this week which went great and were really spiritual! We should have 2 baptisms this week with Kat****** and Ce***. They are two great people that we have been teaching for a while that we have really helped and are doing well!!

To end I found a cool quote this week! “The average millionaire has made 10,000 good decisions, so be meticulous.” I pondered that, as well as scriptures from the Book of Mormon about how becoming successful comes from making small, but very meticulous, good decisions. Prayer, daily scripture study, and other small good daily decisions really make the difference.

LES AMO!!

Elder Woods

Leave a Reply

